top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachel Harper

A cup of Coffee

It's five a.m., and the sun starts her climb into the northern hemisphere. A tinge of orange peaks over the railing of the grain silo's across the highway; a row of semi's idle in the parking lot in front of them. Steam rises from my to to-go coffee cup. I find a window ledge, sit, and light a cigarette. My eyes close, I exhale, and my head lays back against the glass.


"That kind of night, huh?"


"What?" I jerked my head up. An elderly man with weathered skin and knotted hands stands next to me. He sips from his to-go coffee.


"May I join you?"


"Uh, yeah," I skid across the brick away from the man. His sun-bleached pants crumple like satin. I flick my cigarette and inhale. The hum of idling diesel engines encompasses the morning air. We watch the sky melt from dark purple to orange to yellow, and stars become blanketed by the sun. I take a sip of coffee, and the old man copies.


"Where you headed?"


"Someplace west."


"That so?" He lifts his cup and pauses, "I headed that way once at about your age," he takes a sip. "Didn't find much of nothin' I couldn't get at home." He takes another sip, and his pale eyes stare off towards the silos. I sag my head and watch the steam curl up and away from my cup.


"What were you looking for?" I turned to look at him.


"What I thought home couldn't offer," he takes a long drink of his coffee and smacks his lips. He rises, his jeans falling smooth, and throws his cup away, "anyways, you take care of yourself and have a good one." He strides casually towards the trucks swaying his head to the left and right. I watch him haul himself up into a cobalt and chrome Peterbilt.


"Hmm," I grunt. There's no steam coming out of the lid, and I throw the half-sipped coffee away. The bulbous sun is behind the silos now, and the cobalt and chrome Peterbilt pull away. I stand there until the truck is gone before heading to my car, unsure if I should continue.



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Will I Escape Fear?

Right now, with current events, it’s easy to draw parallels with past historical events. The recent invasion of Ukraine by Russia has brought an unease to the Western world that we have not witnessed

Untitled

She sits, clutches the lava in her gnarled hands, rolls the molten earth around and around searing off rotten, gangrene clumps of skin, tumbling to the ground. She scoops seawater, Splashing it into h

A Midwest Storm

The day is heavy. A moisture-rich haze bogs down the Cottonwood leaves, and the air is hard to breathe. Sweat drips off the tip of my nose and soaks through the beltline of my jeans; electrified air

bottom of page